Here you will find up-to-date information about what products are suitable for a Sikh pure vegetarian diet (free from meat, eggs or fish) or giving to Guru Ji.
April 2014 – Update – further to our communications with Lindt regarding their chocolates. Anything without egg in the ingredients is suitable for vegetarians.
30/12/2013 UPDATE – PLEASE NOTE: Cadbury’s Heros (limited edition) now contain miniature Toblerones which are not suitable for pure vegetarians as they contain egg. It is unsure at the moment if they will continue to put Toberlone in Heros chocolate boxes.
If you wish to distribute leaflets (see below) in your area/Gurdwara reagrding chocolates suitable and unsuitable for vegetarians, please email: email@example.com
As Sikh’s we refrain from eating any meat products including eggs and fish.
More Information on the benefits of being vegetarian can be found here:
Here is a list of ingredients that could be non-vegetarian, therefore non-offerable to Guru Ji or the Sangat . In general, devotees only offer lacto-vegetarian items (no meat, fish, or eggs). When in doubt about some specific item, you can always contact the manufacturer. The following are NOT suitable for a vegetarian diet!
|Calcium stearate Emulsifiers EnzymesFatty acidsGelatin
Mono and diglycerides
|Monostearates Oleic acid OleinPalmitinPalmitic acid
In the United Kingdom, the following “E” numbers are nonvegetarian: 120, 140, 141, 153, 161-161g, 252, 280, 322, 352, 385, 404, 422, 430-436, 450, 470-478, 481-483, 491-495, 509, 516, 526, 540, 542, 545, 552, 570, 572, 623, 627, 631, 635, 904. Plus glycerol, glycine, glyceryl, glycerol triacetate, leucine, oxystearin, spermaceti, and vitamin D3.
|Hidden Animal Ingredients|
|Ingredient||What It Is||Its Use|
|Albumin||The protein component of egg whites. Albumin is also found in animal blood, milk, plants, and seeds.||To thicken or add texture to processed foods.|
|Anchovies||Small, silvery fish of herring family.||Worcestershire sauce, Caesar salad dressing, pizza topping, Greek salads.|
|Animal shortening||Butter, suet, lard (see lard below).||Packaged cookies and crackers, refried beans, flour tortillas, ready-made pie crusts.|
|Carmine (carmine, cochineal, or carminic acid)||Red coloring made from a ground-up insect.||Bottled juices, colored pasta, some candies, frozen pops, “natural” cosmetics.|
|Calcium stearate||Mineral typically derived from cows or hogs||Garlic salt, vanilla, meat tenderizers, salad-dressing mixes.|
|Capric acid (decanoic acid)||Animal fats||added to ice cream, candy, baked goods, chewing gum, liquor and often not specified on ingredients lists.|
|Casein (caseinate)||A milk protein. It coagulates with the addition of rennin (see rennin below) and is the foundation of cheese.||An additive in dairy products such as cheese, cream cheese, cottage cheese, and sour cream. Also used in adhesives, paints, and plastics.|
|Clarifying agent||Derived from any number of animal sources.||Used to filter wine, vinegar, beer, fruit juice, soft drinks.|
|Gelatin||Protein from bones, cartilage, tendons, and skin of animals, Much of the commercial gelatin is a by-product of pig skin.||Marshmallows, yogurt, frosted cereals, gelatin-containing desserts, molded salads..|
|Glucose (dextrose)||Fruits or animal tissues and fluids.||Baked goods, soft drinks, candies, frosting.|
|Glycerides (mono-, di-, and triglycerides)||Glycerol from animal fats or plants.||Processed foods, cosmetics, perfumes, lotions, inks, glues, automobile antifreeze. Used as emulsifier.|
|Isinglass||Gelatin from air bladder of sturgeon and other freshwater fish.||Clarify alcoholic beverages and in some jellied desserts. Rarely used now.|
|Lactylic stearate||Salt of stearic acid (see stearic acid below).||Dough conditioner.|
|Lanolin||Waxy fat from sheep’s wool.||Chewing gum, ointments, cosmetics, waterproof coatings.|
|Lard||Rendered and clarified pork fat. Often fat from abdomens of pigs or the fat around the animal’s kidneys.||Baked goods.|
|Lecithin||Phospholipids from animal tissues, plants, lentils, and egg yolks used to preserve, emulsify, and moisturize food.||Cereal, candy, chocolate, baked goods, margarine, vegetable oil sprays, cosmetics, and ink.|
|Lutein||Deep yellow coloring from marigolds or egg yolks.||Commercial food coloring.|
|Myristic acid (tetradecanoic acid)||Animal fats.||Chocolate, ice cream, candy, jelled desserts, baked goods.|
|Natural flavorings||Unspecified, could be from meat or other animal products||Processed and packaged foods.|
|Oleic acid (oleinic acid)||Animal tallow (see tallow below)||Synthetic butter, cheese, vegetable fats and oils, spice flavoring for baked goods, candy, ice cream, beverages, condiments, soaps, cosmetics.|
|Palmatic acid||Animal or vegetable fats.||Baked goods, butter and cheese flavoring.|
|Pancreatin (pancreatic extract)||Cows or hogs||Digestive aids.|
|Pepsin||Enzyme from pigs’ stomachs||With rennet to make cheese.|
|Propolis||Resinous cement collected by bees||Food supplement and ingredient in “natural” toothpaste.|
|Rennin (Rennet)||A coagulating enzyme obtained from a young animal’s stomach, usually a calf’s stomach||Rennin is used to curdle milk in foods such as cheese and junket–a soft pudding like dessert.|
|Royal jelly||Substance produced by glands of bees.||“Natural foods” and nutrient supplements.|
|Sodium stearoyl lactylate||May be derived from cows, hogs, animal milk, or vegetable-mineral sources.||Used in cake, pudding, or pancake mixes, baked goods, margarine.|
|Stearic acid (octadecenoic acid)||Tallow, other animal fats and oils||Vanilla flavoring, chewing gum, baked goods, beverages, candy, soaps, ointments, candles, cosmetics, suppositories and pill coatings.|
|Suet||Hard white fat around kidneys and loins of animals||Margarine, mincemeat, pastries, bird feed, tallow.|
|Tallow||Solid fat of sheep and cattle separated from the membranous tissues||Waxed paper, margarine, soaps, crayons, candles, rubber, cosmetics.|
|Vitamin A (A1, retinol)||Vitamin obtained from vegetables, egg yolks, or fish liver oil.||Vitamin supplements, fortification of foods, “natural” cosmetics.|
|Vitamin B12||Vitamin produced by microorganisms and found in all animal products; synthetic form (cyanocobalamin or cobalamin on labels) is vegan||Supplements or fortified foods.|
|Vitamin D (D1, D2, D3)||D1 is produced by humans upon exposure to sunlight; D2 (ergocalciferol) is made from plants or yeast, D3 (cholecalciferol comes from fish liver oils or lanolin||Supplements or fortified foods.|
Adapted from: The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Being Vegetarian by Suzanne Havala, M.S., R.D., F.A.D.A., Food Lover’s Companion by Sharon Tyler Herbst, The Vegan Sourcebook by Joanne Stepaniak, M.S.Ed.
More Details about E Numbers: http://www.veggieglobal.com/nutrition/non-vegetarian-food-additives.htm
Nestle Products Guidance PDF. vegetarian avoidance list