Here you will find up-to-date information about what products are suitable for a Vegetarian Diet.
As Sikh’s we refrain from eating any meat products including eggs and fish.
Please find emails from companies here: www.1guk.com/emails
General Vege information is below;
Here is a list of ingredients that could be non-vegetarian, therefore non-offerable to Guru Ji or the Sangat . In general, devotees only offer lacto-vegetarian items (no meat, fish, or eggs). When in doubt about some specific item, you can always contact the manufacturer. The following are NOT suitable for a vegetarian diet!
|Calcium stearate Emulsifiers Enzymes Fatty acids Gelatin
Mono and diglycerides
|Monostearates Oleic acid Olein Palmitin Palmitic acid
In the United Kingdom, the following “E” numbers are nonvegetarian: 120, 140, 141, 153, 161-161g, 252, 280, 322, 352, 385, 404, 422, 430-436, 450, 470-478, 481-483, 491-495, 509, 516, 526, 540, 542, 545, 552, 570, 572, 623, 627, 631, 635, 904. Plus glycerol, glycine, glyceryl, glycerol triacetate, leucine, oxystearin, spermaceti, and vitamin D3.
|Hidden Animal Ingredients|
|Ingredient||What It Is||Its Use|
|Albumin||The protein component of egg whites. Albumin is also found in animal blood, milk, plants, and seeds.||To thicken or add texture to processed foods.|
|Anchovies||Small, silvery fish of herring family.||Worcestershire sauce, Caesar salad dressing, pizza topping, Greek salads.|
|Animal shortening||Butter, suet, lard (see lard below).||Packaged cookies and crackers, refried beans, flour tortillas, ready-made pie crusts.|
|Carmine (carmine, cochineal, or carminic acid)||Red coloring made from a ground-up insect.||Bottled juices, colored pasta, some candies, frozen pops, “natural” cosmetics.|
|Calcium stearate||Mineral typically derived from cows or hogs||Garlic salt, vanilla, meat tenderizers, salad-dressing mixes.|
|Capric acid (decanoic acid)||Animal fats||added to ice cream, candy, baked goods, chewing gum, liquor and often not specified on ingredients lists.|
|Casein (caseinate)||A milk protein. It coagulates with the addition of rennin (see rennin below) and is the foundation of cheese.||An additive in dairy products such as cheese, cream cheese, cottage cheese, and sour cream. Also used in adhesives, paints, and plastics.|
|Clarifying agent||Derived from any number of animal sources.||Used to filter wine, vinegar, beer, fruit juice, soft drinks.|
|Gelatin||Protein from bones, cartilage, tendons, and skin of animals, Much of the commercial gelatin is a by-product of pig skin.||Marshmallows, yogurt, frosted cereals, gelatin-containing desserts, molded salads..|
|Glucose (dextrose)||Fruits or animal tissues and fluids.||Baked goods, soft drinks, candies, frosting.|
|Glycerides (mono-, di-, and triglycerides)||Glycerol from animal fats or plants.||Processed foods, cosmetics, perfumes, lotions, inks, glues, automobile antifreeze. Used as emulsifier.|
|Isinglass||Gelatin from air bladder of sturgeon and other freshwater fish.||Clarify alcoholic beverages and in some jellied desserts. Rarely used now.|
|Lactylic stearate||Salt of stearic acid (see stearic acid below).||Dough conditioner.|
|Lanolin||Waxy fat from sheep’s wool.||Chewing gum, ointments, cosmetics, waterproof coatings.|
|Lard||Rendered and clarified pork fat. Often fat from abdomens of pigs or the fat around the animal’s kidneys.||Baked goods.|
|Lecithin||Phospholipids from animal tissues, plants, lentils, and egg yolks used to preserve, emulsify, and moisturize food.||Cereal, candy, chocolate, baked goods, margarine, vegetable oil sprays, cosmetics, and ink.|
|Lutein||Deep yellow coloring from marigolds or egg yolks.||Commercial food coloring.|
|Myristic acid (tetradecanoic acid)||Animal fats.||Chocolate, ice cream, candy, jelled desserts, baked goods.|
|Natural flavorings||Unspecified, could be from meat or other animal products||Processed and packaged foods.|
|Oleic acid (oleinic acid)||Animal tallow (see tallow below)||Synthetic butter, cheese, vegetable fats and oils, spice flavoring for baked goods, candy, ice cream, beverages, condiments, soaps, cosmetics.|
|Palmatic acid||Animal or vegetable fats.||Baked goods, butter and cheese flavoring.|
|Pancreatin (pancreatic extract)||Cows or hogs||Digestive aids.|
|Pepsin||Enzyme from pigs’ stomachs||With rennet to make cheese.|
|Propolis||Resinous cement collected by bees||Food supplement and ingredient in “natural” toothpaste.|
|Rennin (Rennet)||A coagulating enzyme obtained from a young animal’s stomach, usually a calf’s stomach||Rennin is used to curdle milk in foods such as cheese and junket–a soft pudding like dessert.|
|Royal jelly||Substance produced by glands of bees.||“Natural foods” and nutrient supplements.|
|Sodium stearoyl lactylate||May be derived from cows, hogs, animal milk, or vegetable-mineral sources.||Used in cake, pudding, or pancake mixes, baked goods, margarine.|
|Stearic acid (octadecenoic acid)||Tallow, other animal fats and oils||Vanilla flavoring, chewing gum, baked goods, beverages, candy, soaps, ointments, candles, cosmetics, suppositories and pill coatings.|
|Suet||Hard white fat around kidneys and loins of animals||Margarine, mincemeat, pastries, bird feed, tallow.|
|Tallow||Solid fat of sheep and cattle separated from the membranous tissues||Waxed paper, margarine, soaps, crayons, candles, rubber, cosmetics.|
|Vitamin A (A1, retinol)||Vitamin obtained from vegetables, egg yolks, or fish liver oil.||Vitamin supplements, fortification of foods, “natural” cosmetics.|
|Vitamin B12||Vitamin produced by microorganisms and found in all animal products; synthetic form (cyanocobalamin or cobalamin on labels) is vegan||Supplements or fortified foods.|
|Vitamin D (D1, D2, D3)||D1 is produced by humans upon exposure to sunlight; D2 (ergocalciferol) is made from plants or yeast, D3 (cholecalciferol comes from fish liver oils or lanolin||Supplements or fortified foods.|
Adapted from: The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Being Vegetarian by Suzanne Havala, M.S., R.D., F.A.D.A., Food Lover’s Companion by Sharon Tyler Herbst, The Vegan Sourcebook by Joanne Stepaniak, M.S.Ed.
More Details about E Numbers: http://www.veggieglobal.com/nutrition/non-vegetarian-food-additives.htm
Nestle Products Guidance.